What Holds Me Back…..

Honesty will win this day!

Great questions to ask me at this time. It seems like I start and stop, back and forth, to an fro with my wants, desires, and ideas about how to get out of the 9-5 lifestyle to travel again and what I want to accomplish on my own terms.

DSC00710.JPG

One major item in my life that has caused so much inaction is marijuana. After almost 15 years of daily use I am realizing that smoking marijuana does not serve me. Now I know some in my life would have a big “I told you so,” statement about this topic but I have to figure these things out on my own.

As I start to look deeper into myself, thanks in large part to my amazing girlfriend Erin, I begin to see so many areas needing improvement. Removing daily use of marijuana from my life has allowed me to stick to a good schedule of stretching, yoga, meditation, and better eating habits. All of these things are contributing to a better me that can ask my true self bigger questions and actually find some answers.

If I was high right now I would not be writing this blog post. It truly takes a desire for change and ACTION to make the change you want to see in your own life. Erin has shown me how that is possible and we are striving to be better for ourselves and each other every day. My daily course of action now includes resisting the urge to get high, visit my journal (and now blog posts!), and have a DO IT NOW mentality for whatever needs to get done.

Indecisiveness is a big challenge for me. I tend to get a little wishy washy in my decision-making and it can cause some difficulties in my life, especially in my relationships. I struggle to commit to a decision.  This needs to change.

A book that resonates powerfully in my life is The Traveler’s Gift by Andy Andrews (big thanks to MB for gifting me this book!). In it, the quote, “Successful people make their decisions quickly and change their minds slowly,” resonates with me. Also, “failures make their decisions slowly and change their minds quickly.” Remembering these quotes can provide me with the personal motivation to improve my decision-making and stick with those decisions when made, no more back and forth!

I recite the seven decisions that determine personal success from the book often. When looking at the above quotes I understand that decision-making is a skill that can be learned, practiced, and be a driver towards my success. I made the decision to be up and working on my blog work at 8 am on a Saturday. This is the change I want to see in myself and overcoming the challenge of indecisiveness, DO IT NOW. TAKE ACTION.

Happy Saturday everyone! Get out there and do what you love, shine your bright light, and be happy!

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 1

 

blog-challenge-badge-12.png

Author: Ryan W Regier

Looking for a change in life, once again. Ready for more travel and less 9-5. Time for Action!

Leave a Reply

